The online racing simulator
Lapping backmarkers
(90 posts, started )
#1 - ajp71
Lapping backmarkers
I think some fast people need to learn some common sense when it comes to lapping backmarkers, being slow I've got plenty of experience being a backmarker as well as being a faster car, so I understand the frustration of being stuck behind somebody.

A few things to point out to lapping cars:

- You have no right to barge down the inside. IRL most rule books state that the backmarker does not have to jump off the racing line to let the car behind past, whilst it is polite to do so if there is contact unless the backmarker has done something unbelievably stupid it is the faster cars fault by default.

- You've got to be able to catch the backmarker, this sounds obvious but I've seen too many times people complaining when the backmarker is running at the same speed as the front running car. If you can't keep up the backmarker doesn't have to slow down to let you catch up, although remember that sometimes a backmarker may not be catchable in single seaters due to dirty air this is a different case.

- You don't have to pass in the middle of a chicane, I've had several people take me out trying to lap me at the Blackwood chicane recentley, ffs you can't pass there when racing for position so when lapping someone it's a non-starter.

- You don't have to put out 'Blue Flag let me past' messages, they don't help let the person ahead know you're coming, he's already got 'BLUE FLAG' slapped in his face by LFS he doesn't need your message and neither does everybody else on the server, it just adds as a distraction to everyone else and increases the chance people will block messages so anything that is useful isn't heard.