The online racing simulator
Components for a *very quiet* Micro-ATX system
I'm thinking of putting together a Micro-ATX form-factor PC to have next to my TV in the living room. It would mainly be used for films, music, emulated console games (hooray! ) and maybe the odd 3D game that suits a front room like Guitar Hero (I don't have any other consoles like a PS2 or xbox).

It would need to be if not silent, then almost silent. Things like wireless network I don't need as my router is only about 3 metres away. Thing is, I have no real experience with small form-factor or quiet components, the only thing I have built so far is my huge monster gaming PC where size and noise weren't really an issue.

So cool-running CPU, small but quiet CPU fan (a huge Zalman modern-art sculpture would be quiet, but wouldn't fit in the case), average graphics card, ideally passively cooled, and a DVD drive. HD space isn't that important as content that takes up a lot of disk space can be streamed from the PC upstairs.

Any ideas?
Might want to consider mini-itx.
Possibly. As I probably implied with the first post, I've not really done much research into it yet.

Starting with somthing like this: http://www.microdirect.co.uk/( ... i-Aluminium-Barebone.aspx

..although that's only an example. Any and all of the components can be different, but it gives you an idea of the kind of form-factor.
Yea, definitely Mini-ITX is something to look at. There are quite a few fanless motherboards with integrated 1+ Ghz chips if you're not looking for performance. I use that as my carputer.
I do want a *bit* of performance. Obviously we're not talking Crysis here, but it should be able to run something like LFS.