The online racing simulator
#1 - janm
Anyone got an idea what's causing this Kernel data(stack) inpage error?
Hi, everyone.
I'm having this ''Kernel data inpage error'' coming up on my monitor, a blue screen...you probably know what it looks like...

I took the pc to a local pc assembler, who tested the machine and said it was the ram and put a new ram into the pc.(the pc was also running slow).

Now the speed is ok, but now and then this kernel message still comes up and the pc reboots.
I'm no expert in this ''department'' and don't know what could be the cause. Could it be the motherboard drivers or any other drivers i should update, apart from gfx card which i've done already ?

foxconn sis760
amd 64 3000+
512 ram
ati 9600 pro
wd 80gb

Thanks for the help.

Jan
I think the first thing I'd do would be to see what other BIOS versions are available and try either a later or previous version. Because its a Kernal stack related error I'd say its unlikely to be windows or application related.
#3 - Vain
Definitely try to update the BIOS. If that doesn't work you're unlucky. Some mainboards don't like specific RAMs ("don't like" as in: the specsheet says it's compatible yet the system is unstable).

Vain
Apparently this error happens when you only have an device is set to slave without having a master, either that or your HDD is on the way out.

Dan,
It maybe possible that the previous faulty ram has corrupted some files on your hard drive. So if you cant resolve the problem any other way, try reformatting the hard drive and reinstalling everything to see if that corrects the problem before buying another harddrive.
#6 - janm
This forum is great !
I mean, great people on the forum .
Thanks for your instant replies.

One more thing:
I updated the bios, now it says to restart the computer and ''load CMOS optimized defaults''.
What do i have to do? Anything in bios or do i need only to restart the computer and the ''CMOS otpimized defaults'' load automatically?

Thanks.
Jan