The online racing simulator
A few noobie questions
(12 posts, started )
A few noobie questions
Hi all,
I am new to this game and am currently using the s2 demo. Is this game worth buying? Does/How have an interactive pitcrew? Are there any mods etc for this game?
Thanks 4 helping out,
Mclarenmatt
Yes the game is worth buying - it would be worth it if it were twice the price. The answer you get here (being the LFS forum) might be a little biased, but not as much as you'd think.

How interactive pitcrew - you are the pitcrew. You decide what happens in the pitlane via F12, although some stuff is fixed, like damage repair, as it's the only way of currently penalising accidents.

No 'mods' as such, like other cars or tracks, but there are a few programs tat work with LFS to expand the content unofficially, such as a slickmod (allows all tyres on all cars [not all at once silly]), ghost mod (allows you to artificially be quick and ruins the realism of the game, but GTx fans like it), LFS Tweak (allows everyone to make silly cars that aren't drivable to demonstrate their lack of knowledge of cars).
As a demo user you should know most of this, as the only thing not available in the demo is extra cars and tracks. The features are pretty much the same (other than pit lane speed limiters, skin downloading and stats tracking).
Yes.
No.
No.

Both No's are actually more like "Not yet". Mods as in adding new cars and tracks aren't allowed/possible as long as the game isn't finished, but modifying textures and some sounds is possible. There are also useful addons like Smokemod, Ghostcar and Pitspotter and also a program called LFSTweak, allowing for many changes of the existing cars.

For me, buying S2 was the best money spent on a game ever. I'm playing it for ages now and it's still fun to play, unlike many of the other games catching dust on my shelf.

E: Damn you tristan
Worth buying for ?

YES ! :headbang:

P.S. Definitely