The online racing simulator
New user - computer probs
(19 posts, started )
When I started playing LFS it was on my latop, a P4 1.7gig, 512mb (I think), 9600 machine. It ran brilliantly.

Upgraded to S2 and steering wheel and I'm playing on my HTPC... more powerfull I'd say... P4 1.8, 512, radeon 9800.... It ran terribly.

I benchmarked it, and its obviously slow on the CPU ... can anyone think of anything that would affect it like this ?
Im guessing that something is eating up your RAM, check out how much is being used by your software firewalls and antivirus programs. Other than that, I have no clue why it would run alot slower, unless the GPU is fried :|
if its a p4 mobile then its alot faster than that 1.8 p4 for the desktop.
is that true?! wow. I always thought it was basically the same Die. Do you know of any benchmarks ??
this still isnt sorted

I'm starting to think HD speed ? is it an issue?
No, it's the CPU. The Pentium Mobile is a much better core then the P4, as it's the PIII revisited, which was a much better CPU then the P4. Either change the CPU in the HTPC, or go back to playing on your laptop, as early gen P4's are really bad processors. Many people say this a lot, but the message doesn't seem to be getting out there.

Clock Speed is not everything when looking at processors.
right, ok thanks. message received ... now to find some cheapo hardware, I need LFS on the widescreen !!
#8 - ORION
Centrinos are really lovely CPUs, I have a 1.5 here, and its WAY WAY WAY faster at rendering in Firefox than my 3200+ Athlon XP at 2.5GHz (watercooled)
Incredible, what a huge effect those 2MB L2 cache have.

In LFS, the 3200+ is ahead though
reckon AMD's are best for LFS then ? I'd be looking at about the 2200 mark probs
Quote from ORION :Incredible, what a huge effect those 2MB L2 cache have.

Its not the huge L2 cache .AMD processors dont have so huge cache and can beat P4 easily.
Well but you are a bit right as Pentium with small cache have really bad results.